Be self-sufficient (and survive an apocalypse)

We are contemplating a life in South-West Germany. This is because I am not a real urbanite, one who can happily succumb to the rhythms of a metropolis, steering through the trials and tribulations of an urban life. The thought of joining yet another rat race, this time in Berlin, makes me feel nauseous. There’s nothing wrong with Berlin. Berlin has a great standard of living. Here, you can get beautiful, huge old flats for little money, food is cheap and the city is fairly green. Whereas in London, people scramble for years just to get a toe onto the property ladder and you truly feel trapped in what might probably be the greatest jungle on earth.
But building a permanent nest in Berlin is out of the question. There’s not much you can call your own in a city like this, other than your four walls and a balcony – if you’re lucky.

Don’t get me wrong. If I was rich, I’d have a flat in London where I’d spend a third of my time every year. But I am not rich, which is why it’s not a bad idea to think of what is doable. Small-towners like myself usually crave adventure. I have had that. Plenty of adventures in London and Berlin. Nowadays I dream of self-sufficiency. A natural progression. So why not move to South-West Germany, a place I last called home 10 years ago!

In times of a potential impending apocalypse, it feels only right to find yourself a bolthole. A place that could potentially keep you alive, no matter what happens.

Being able to care for yourself means understanding how nature works. Growing the right kind of vegetables and fruit, so that you can eat fresh and nourishing food every season. The holy grail of self-sufficiency is a vegetable garden, a proper one. One that is not too neat but one that really delivers. My grandmother’s vegetable garden is a prime example. From Aubergines to Zucchini, you’ll find it all:

1. Lettuce and Fresh Herbs

2. Heirloom Tomatoes

3. Cherry Tomatoes

4. Aubergines (Eggplant)

5. Rhubarb

6. Green Beans

7. Apples

