Raising…..chilis and tomatillos

Even though I will be raising a kid soon, for the time being I get to practice my tender loving care not only on our bunnies Dorothy and Miranda, but also on an entire army of Tomatillo, Rocoto Chili, Hot Lemon Drops, Wild Tomato and Mulato Poblano (Ancho) seedlings.

Image

Impatient describes me pretty well when it comes to gardening.
The Anchos are what I am looking forward to the most and they have been super slow with germination.

Key is, to keep them moist and warm. Good seeds won’t hurt either and with a bit of luck, you have a handful of seedlings in about 2 weeks.

I found the slow germination process to be the case for pretty much all the chili seeds I’ve planted. The Rocotos took some time too, I have never eaten one before and let’s say I’m veeery curious about these. Tree chilies that are slightly sweet in flavour. Should be good!

Image

Tomatillos on the other hand are great if you don’t excel at waiting for things to happen. Within 3-4 days you can expect germination to take place. Plant them into bigger pots, or take them to a garden once strong enough, to be able to enjoy their fruit in late summer. In Germany, Tomatillos are pretty much non-existent, so this August, we’ll hopefully be able to make some real Tomatillo salsa and maybe sell the odd bag of green goodness here and there.

Image

I’ll keep you posted. Fellow Germans (or Europeans) for orders, don’t hesitate to get in touch if you’re looking into ordering some goodness this summer!

 

